As Told By Me!

Everyone has one, but this is mine.

This is My Story !

1994 was a big year for me. It was the beginning of the rest of my life, it is the start of my story. February 21, 1994, I turned my family’s world upside down. At 7:11 P.M. I made my appearance, I was predicted to arrive the 21st and by golly my mom made sure I was going to arrive on time, no sister repeats, ( I have an older sister who was two weeks late…thanks sis). Now when my mom tells the story, she says me being born on time was both a blessing and a curse. A blessing because she finally got to meet this little creature she had been waiting on for nine months, a curse because the new journey she/ we were about to take was scary and unpredictable. She didn’t want me to suffer in any way shape of form. Thank God for moms, that is all I have to say about that.

I was among the few fortunate babies to be diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis at birth. Right out of the gate my family had an idea of what to expect…so they thought. I was born at Martha Jefferson Hospital, but because I was born with Meconium ileus, I was transported to the University Of Virginia for exploratory surgery. At thirty-two hours old I underwent my first surgery, it was during the surgery that Dr. Rodgers made the diagnosis of Cystic Fibrosis. At the time C.F. was still relatively new at least that is how the story was repeated back to me. Dr. Rodgers carefully explained, in as much details as he could about what C.F. was, how it was going to affect me, how it was going to affect our family, how finances were going to change drastically, ect, ect, ect. Then he gave my mom the biggest news yet, the harsh reality that she was lucky to get five years with me.

Well…here I am 21 years later. I have been up, down, thick, thin, happy, and sad, but I am still alive to tell my story. For years I have had strong opinion on life, and what others call wisdom and knowledge about C.F. and just life in general, that when I started to share the “knowledge”  with close friends and family they suggested telling my story. I have never been one to put my story out for others to read, I never wanted people to know I had Cystic Fibrosis. I did not tell people because I was ashamed, I just did not want people to pity me, or see me as any different then the next person. I was raised to be “normal”, which now I am learning has no real definition… because what is normal, who am I to define “normal” and categorize people as such or different? It has taken me 21 years to be okay with letting people in and sharing my thoughts on life. I did not really see the affect my story had on people, until I started sharing it, then i started getting emails with people sharing their stories, and asking questions, or even just stopping in to say how I helped change their life or views. 21 years and now I am ready to share with you my life past, present and future.

I have struggled for 21 years on how I was going to concur, not just Cystic Fibrosis, but every curve ball life has to throw at me. I want to do it with all of you. All my life I have wanted to inspire people to just live for the moment, I have also thought what am I going to turn my blog into. 21 years later, I have found what I wanted to do. Please take the journey with me, we have so much to learn from each other.

xoxo

                                                                                                             –

Leave a Reply

